Forgot Password?  
Welcome to the Habersham County Schools Website :: Student Services
Counselors

School Counselors are available at each school in Habersham County to provide guidance services, individual and group counseling, and consultation with school staff, parents, and the community. At each grade level, counselors provide classroom guidance to address developmental, transitional and educational needs common to all students. A counselor may also plan lessons with the individual classroom teacher to address a particular issue for a given class. Even though school counselors are not considered therapists, they provide individual and group counseling to assist students with problems that affect their performance in school. Information shared with the counselor is confidential unless disclosure is required to prevent clear and imminent danger to the student or others or when legal requirements demand that confidential information be revealed. At each school, the counselor welcomes parents and staff members to discuss services that might be helpful to assist students in personal, academic, career, or transitional needs. Below is a list of the counselors and information on how to contact them.

 

 Elementary School Counselors

 

 

School Counselor Name Phone Email
Baldwin Elementary Saresa Garrett (706)778-6435 sgarrett@habershamschools.com
Clarkesville Elementary Nancy Cathcart (706)754-2442 ncathcart@habershamschools.com
Cornelia Elementary Steve Miraglia (706)778-6526 smiraglia@habershamschools.com
Demorest Elementary Deborah Wilson (706)778-4126 dcwilson@habershamschools.com
Fairview Elementary Mary Beth Simmons (706)778-2030 msimmons@habershamschools.com
Hazel Grove Elementary Joni Blackburn (706)754-2942 jblackburn@habershamschools.com
Level Grove Elementary Tanya Tucker (706)778-3087 ttucker@habershamschools.com
Woodville Elementary Joni Blackburn (706)754-4225 jblackburn@habershamschools.com

 

 

Middle School Counselors

 

 

School Counselor Name Phone Email
Hilliard A. Wilbanks Middle School Dan Keef (706)894-1341 dkeef@habershamschools.com
North Habersham Middle School Leah Bramlett (706)754-2915 lbramlett@habershamschools.com
South Habersham Middle School Donnie Bennett (706)778-7121 dbennett@habershamschools.com

 

 

High School Counselors

 

 

School Counselor Name Phone Email
Habersham Ninth Grade Academy Holly McShane (706)778-0830 hmcshane@habershamschools.com
Habersham Central High School Laurie Gallman (706)778-7161 lgallman@habershamschools.com
Habersham Central High School Sheila Green (706)778-7161 sgreen@habershamschools.com
Habersham Central High School Anna Jordan (706)778-7161 ajordan@habershamschools.com

 

 

Our Mission Statement

 

Our mission is to provide every student access to a certified professional school counselor and to provide opportunities to acquire the academic, career, personal, and social competencies, within a comprehensive and developmental counseling program, to promote quality learning and lifelong success.

 

 

Belief Statements

  • All students have dignity, worth, and the right to a safe and nurturing environment which supports and enhances student achievement and life long success.
  • All students will be provided with a school Guidance and Counseling program that will be consistent with expected developmental stages and differences in learning styles.
  • All students' ethnic, cultural, racial differences, and special needs are considered in planning and implementing the school-wide Guidance and Counseling program.

 

 

The Habersham County Counseling Program will:

  • Have an Advisory Council comprised of professional school counselors, administrators, representatives from the school and community members for the purpose of planning, coordinating, implementing, and evaluating the program.
  • Work collaboratively to provide challenging and engaging learning opportunities that align with local, state, and national standards and are integrated with the total school curriculum.
  • Adhere to the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) National Model.
  • Use data to develop, monitor and assess the program.
  • Support counselor, teacher, and advisory council member participation in ongoing professional development training, workshops, and research to maintain the quality of the counseling program.
  • Abide by the ethical standards of the American School Counselor Association and the Georgia School Counselors Association.