skip to main content

Habersham County Schools
132 Stanford Mill Road
PO Box 70
Clarkesville, GA 30523

706-754-2118 phone
706-754-1549 fax

« Back to news list
Congratulations to WMS Principal Marybeth Thomas!
Hilliard A.Wilbanks Middle School
News Image
Posted On: Friday, January 18, 2019

GASSP Principal of the Year!

The Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals announced this year’s Principal of the Year.  Marybeth Thomas, principal of Hillard A. Wilbanks Middle School won the honor!

6 finalists were selected from a large pool of applications.  The press release below contains more information: 

The application is an extensive review of the performance of their school based on data provided by the applicants.  The finalists will go through an interview in Athens to determine the Georgia Principal of the Year.

The Principal of the Year recognition program is sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals, the Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals and Association Member Benefit Advisor (AMBA).  The Georgia winner will represent the state in the competition for National Principal of the Year, sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.   The Principal of the Year program recognizes principals that excel in educational leadership, resolving complex problems, developing self and others, and community service.

GASSP’s 1300 members across Georgia are extremely proud of the finalists.  Melton Callahan, Executive Director of GASSP and JoAnn Bartoletti, Executive Director of NASSP, also offer their commendation for these outstanding school principals who personify excellence in providing quality leadership to their school communities.

Habersham County Schools is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience and in compliance with Section 508 guidelines.  If you have accessibility concerns or any issues viewing our content, please email